Awards for International Seafarers’ welfare announced



Announcement of International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards was made during a ceremony hosted by International Maritime Organisation’s Secretary-General Mr. Koji Sekimizu. On June 9th, the ceremony took place at International Maritime Organisation, London.


Judges Awards :

Judges’ Special Award

Mr. Rev’d Ken Peter

Mission to seafarer, Director of Justice and Public Affairs

Judges’ Posthumous Award

Mr. Paul Karras

Hunterlink Recovery Services Founder

Other Awards :

Shipping Company of the Year


Port of the Year

Halifax, Canada based Port

Seafarer Centre of the Year

Bremerhaven, Seafarers Centre

Dr. Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year (Organisation)

India’s National Union of Seafarers

Dr. Dierk Lindemann Welfare Personality of the Year

Chirag Bahri (MPHRP)

The Welfare personality award was named after the late Dr. Dierk Lindemann, spokesman for the Shipowner at ILO, who played an important role in the adoption of Maritime Labor Convention.

Koji Sekimizu, IMO Secretary-General commented that, “the awards are a perfect way of recognizing the achievements and doings in the aspects of providing welfare facilities and services for seamen on a global basis.  I hope that the awards manage to raise seafarers’ welfare profile and serve as motivation for others to evaluate and subsequently enhance their current performance results.”

ISWAN Executive Director, Roger Harris, commented: “These awards aim to recognize excellent achievements and inspire the rest of the community to contribute more towards seafarers’ welfare. We are extremely pleased that the award ceremony is taking place here at the IMO in London.”

Judges :

  • Mr Steve Cotton, International Transport Workers’ Federation General-Secretary
  • Fr Bruno Ciceri, International Christian Maritime Association Chairman
  • Mr Masamichi Morooka, International Chamber of Shipping President and
  • Ms Rose George, who wrote the award winning ‘Deep Sea and Foreign Going: Inside Shipping, the Invisible Industry that Brings You 90% of Everything’.

All of the said awards are made possible due to the funds provided via a grant by the ITF Seafarers’ Trust.

The sponsors:

  • Garrets (Shipping Company of the Year)
  • Inmarsat (headline)
  • Wrist Ship Supply (Seafarer Centre of the Year)
  • Crewtoo, award’s media sponsor

The International Maritime organization also supports and endorses the awards, as well as the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA) along with the International Transport Workers Federation (ITF) and the International Labor Organization (ILO).


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.