Japan Expands Its Entry Ban To Prevent Coronavirus Spread!


Japan expands its entry ban to visitors from various nations in effort to contain the spread of the new coronavirus, reports Kyodo news.

Entry ban

Japan has expanded its entry ban list, introducing strict entry restrictions for travellers from various countries that have been severely affected by the Coronavirus. Among 10 other countries, Japan now has included India in its entry ban list.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe said the move will take effect from Wednesday and will remain in place “for the time being.” 

Turned away

It was reported that foreign nationals who have been to these areas within the last 14 days will be turned away upon arrival.

The countries added to ban list

Apart from India, the other countries are Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, South Africa and Tajikistan.

Travel advisory

The Foreign Ministry raised its travel advisory for the 11 nations last week, urging against any trips to the areas.

With their addition, the number of countries and regions covered by Japan’s entry ban climbs to 111. This includes the United States, most of Asia including China and South Korea, and all of Europe.

Border control measures

Abe also said Japan will maintain other border control measures, including visa suspensions and a 14-day quarantine period for all arrivals including Japanese nationals, until the end of June.

A blow to economy

The number of foreign travelers to Japan has plummeted since the measures were introduced, dealing a heavy blow to the world’s third-largest economy.

According to the Japan Tourism Agency, inbound figures were down 99.9 percent in April from a year earlier to just 2,900.

Did you subscribe to our daily newsletter?

It’s Free! Click here to Subscribe!

Source: Kyodo News


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.