Meet the Finalists of TMS 2019 Awards


A complete list of finalists for the sixth annual The Maritime Standard Awards, which will be held on 21st October 2019, at the Atlantis, the Palm, Dubai, has been officially announced, reports Marasi News.

The Maritime Standard Awards

For the sixth year in a row His Highness Sheikh Ahmed bin Saeed Al Maktoum, President, Dubai Civil Aviation Authority and Chairman and Chief Executive, Emirates Airline and Group has bestowed his royal patronage on The Maritime Standard (TMS) Awards.

An expert panel of judges drawn from different industry sectors has been busily assessing and evaluating nominations for a total of 20 different categories, the winners of which will be announced in the evening of October 21st.

The Editor of The Maritime Standard and Chairman of the Judging Panel, Clive Woodbridge, says, “This year we have received top quality entries from right across the business and geographic spectrum within the region.

He added, All categories have been fiercely contested and it has not been easy to prepare shortlists for the finalists. We are pleased to say this stage has been completed and anyone in contention deserve recognition for their achievements and performance levels over the past year.”

The categories that have been judged by the panel are:

  • Safety and Security;
  • Environmental Protection;
  • Green Shipping;
  • Technology & Innovation;
  • Corporate Social Responsibility;
  • Best Practices;
  • Maritime Education and Training;
  • Transport & Logistics and Energy,
  • Oil and Gas Shipping.

In addition, there are awards for

  • Shipyard/Ship Repair Facility;
  • Marine Broker;
  • Marine Insurance Company;
  • Ship Manager;
  • Ship Agency;
  • Tanker Operator;
  • Shipowner and Operator;
  • Classification Society;
  • Terminal Operator;
  • Shipping Company and
  • Port of the Year.

The full list of finalists can be found below:

The Safety & Security Award

  • Abu Dhabi Ports
  • Arab Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Co (ASRY)
  • Bahri
  • DNV GL
  • DP World, UAE Region
  • Drydocks World Dubai
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company SAK
  • Oman Ship Management Company S.A.O.C

The Environment Protection Award

  • Abu Dhabi Ports
  • Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone (Mundra)
  • DP World, UAE Region
  • Essar Bulk Terminal Paradip Limited
  • Fairdeal Marine Services LLC
  • HullWiper Ltd
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company
  • Orient Overseas Container Line Limited

The Green Shipping Award

  • GMS
  • Hapag-Lloyd Ship Management Dubai- UASC
  • HullWiper Ltd
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company
  • MaK Middle East LLC
  • Orient Overseas Container Line Limited

The Technology/Innovations Award

  • APM Terminals Bahrain B.S.C
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company
  • Lighthouse eSolutions Pte. Ltd
  • Maqta Gateway
  • Marlink
  • Massterly AS (A Kongsberg Wilhelmsen joint venture)
  • Wilhelmsen Ships Service – Ships Agency

The Corporate Social Responsibility Award

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • DP World (Sub Continent Region)
  • DP World, UAE Region
  • Essar Ports Ltd
  • Monjasa
  • Sri Lanka Navy

Best Practices Award

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Fichte & Co
  • HullWiper Ltd
  • Oman Dry Dock Company

Shipyard/Ship Repair Facility of the Year

  • Albwardy Damen
  • Drydocks World Dubai
  • Inter Ocean Ship Repair LLC
  • Nico International
  • Oman Dry-Dock Company LLC
  • Vijai Marine Services

The Maritime Education and Training Award

  • Abu Dhabi Maritime Academy
  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Emirates Classification Society (Tasneef)
  • Hindustan Institute of Maritime Training
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company
  • Mercantile Seamen Training Institute Ltd
  • The Shipping Corporation of India

Energy, Oil and Gas Shipping Award

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Sea Eagles Shipping LLC
  • Zakher Marine International

Transportation and Logistics Award

  • Agility (Abu Dhabi) PJSC
  • Almajdouie Logistics Company
  • Bahri Logistics
  • DP World (Sub Continent Region)
  • GAC Group
  • Hellmann Worldwide Logistics LLC
  • Kanoo Terminal Services Ltd
  • Khalifa Industrial Zone Abu Dhabi

Marine Broker of the Year

  • Maersk Broker Middle East DMC EST
  • Main Mast Marsec PVT LTD
  • McQuilling Shipping Services DMCC

Marine Insurer of the Year

  • 24Vision
  • General Insurance Corporation of India
  • Islamic P&I club
  • The New India Assurance Co. Ltd
  • TT Club

Ship Manager of the Year

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • ARKA Global Marine Services LLC
  • Bahri Ship Management
  • Emarat Maritime
  • Hapag-Lloyd Ship Management Dubai-UASC

Ship Agency of the Year

  • DTA Ship Agency
  • GAC Group
  • Seamaster Maritime LLC
  • West Oceanic Shipping Agencies LLC
  • Wilhelmsen Ships Service
  • Yacht International Co. LLC

Tanker Operator of the Year

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Bahri Oil
  • Emarat Maritime
  • Kuwait Oil Tanker Company S.A.K
  • Tristar Group

Ship Owner/Operator of the Year

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Bahri
  • Hapag-Lloyd Ship Management Dubai- UASC
  • International Shipping and Logistics, FZE Dubai
  • Orient Overseas Container Line Limited
  • Tomini Shipping
  • Transworld Group
  • Tristar Group

Classification Society of the Year

  • ABS
  • DNV GL
  • Emirates Classification Society (Tasneef)

Terminal Operator of the Year

  • Abu Dhabi Terminals
  • Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Ltd
  • DP World, UAE Region
  • Essar Ports Ltd
  • Hutchison Ports Sohar

Port of the Year

  • Abu Dhabi Ports
  • Adani Ports and Special Economic Zone Limited
  • DP World, UAE Region
  • Hutchison Ports Dammam
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust

Shipping Company of the Year

  • ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Bahri
  • Maersk Kanoo, UAE
  • The Shipping Corporation of India
  • Tristar Group
  • Zakher Marine International

In addition to the Awards chosen by the judging panel on the basis of the nominations submitted, there will be a number of individual awards selected by The Maritime Standard. These include the

  • Deal of the Year;
  • Young Person in Shipping;
  • Woman in Shipping;
  • Editor’s Choice;
  • Outstanding Achievement;
  • Personality of the Year;
  • International Personality of the Year;
  • TMS Excellence in Shipping;
  • Lifetime Achievement; and
  • Hall of Fame.

The selection of these shortlisted companies and organisations has been carried out by the independent judging panel, against criteria set for each category.

No judge is asked to vote in a category where their company has an interest, nor where they are a nominee.

The Maritime Standard Awards 2019 judges, all well respected individuals with deserved reputations in the industry for their expertise and integrity, are:

  • Capt. Mohamed Juma Al Shamisi, CEO, Abu Dhabi Ports
  • Capt. Abdulkareem Al Masabi, CEO, ADNOC Logistics & Services
  • Abdulla Bin Damithan, Chief Commercial Officer, DP World UAE Region
  • Ali Shehab, Acting CEO, KOTC
  • Angus Frew, Secretary General/CEO, BIMCO
  • Capt. Anoop Kumar Sharma, Chairman and Managing Director, The Shipping Corporation of India
  • Rajiv Agarwal, Managing Director, Essar Ports
  • Capt. Jitendra Misra, Managing Director, Emarat Maritime
  • Capt. S.R. Patnaik, Director and CEO, International Shipping and Logistics
  • Ruwan Waidyaratne, Managing Director of Hayley’s Advantis Limited
  • Clive Woodbridge, Editor, The Maritime Standard (Chairman of the Judging

Over 750 high level executives from the shipping, ports, shipbuilding and repair, logistics, transportation, law, insurance, and other maritime sectors, will attend the event, along with leading figures from governmental agencies and international industry bodies.

Did you subscribe to our daily newsletter?

It’s Free! Click here to Subscribe!

Source: Marasi News


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.