Appointment of Maritime Safety Division Director



Captain Ashok Mahapatra has taken the charge of new IMO Director, Maritime Safety Division.  He would be taking his position on 1st October 2015.  He started his career by joining Scindia Steam Navigation as a Cadet in 1973 and elevated to the rank of Chief Officer in 1977 and a Master with South India Shipping Corp in 1982.   He remained in command of foreign-going ships until 1986 as a Directorate General of Shipping Government of India as a nautical surveyor.  In 1994, he was promoted to deputy nautical adviser to the Government of India.  As a technical officer, he joined IMO’s STCW and Human Element Section in 1998.  In 2003, he took over as the Head of Maritime Training and Human Element Section in the Maritime Safety Division.  He rose to Senior Deputy Director, sub-division for operational safety and human element in the division on 1st January 2012.

DHT Holdings has appointed Joseph Pyne to its board of directors expanding the board strength from three to four independent directors. Erik Lind, DHT Chairman, said: “We are very pleased to have Joe join the DHT board of directors.  His commercial and operational experience and longstanding insight into the US capital markets are all expected to augment the workings of the board significantly to the benefit of DHT.”

Finally, Christopher Boehringer has taken over as a TORM’s new chairperson and Torben Janholt, and Pär Göran Trapp became the new members of the Board by votes at the recent company AGM.  David Weinstein took up the position of new deputy chairperson and Jeffrey Stein, and Eugene Irwin Davis were elected the first and second alternate for the deputy chairperson, respectively.

Source: TankerOperator