Winners Of Tanker Shipping & Trade Awards 2022


Tanker industry names winners of Tanker Shipping & Trade Awards 2022, according to a Riviera news source.

Tanker Shipping & Trade awards

The Tanker Shipping & Trade awards are one of the highlights of the annual Tanker Shipping & Trade Conference, Exhibition and Awards, Europe. For the second time, the event was held in Athens, Greece, the home of some of the world’s most significant tanker operators.

The key feature of the Tanker Shipping & Trade Awards is that the winners are chosen by the industry from nominations submitted by those in the tanker industry.

“These are your awards, decided by you,” master of ceremonies, Riviera Maritime Media executive editor and head of business relations Edwin Lampert said.

The first award to be presented on the night was the Tanker Operator of the Year Award, sponsored by DNV, which was also the platinum sponsor of the event. Nominated were Capital Ship Management Corp, Arcadia Shipmanagement, Hafnia and Columbia Shipmanagement.

See the full list of award winners below

Taking home the award for Tanker Operator of the Year was Hafnia.

Nominated for the Environmental Award, which recognises an individual, company or institution that has found a solution to an environmental challenge or problem within the tanker industry, comprised: Yara Marine for its FuelOpt product, RWO for its large tanker ready oily water separators OWS-PT, and Berg Propulsion for its MPC800 controllable pitch and thruster control system. The Environmental Award was sponsored by Chevron.

The winner of the Environmental Award was Yara Marine for its FuelOpt product.

Rounding off the first half of the evening, and ahead of the sumptuous dinner, was the presentation of the Tanker of the Year Award, sponsored by DNV. The nominations comprised: Knutsen Group’s dual-fuel shuttle tanker Frida Knutsen, Proman Stena Bulk’s methanol-powered MR tanker Stena Pro Patria, Avin International’s ammonia-power-ready tanker Kriti Future, Advantage Tankers’ LR tanker with C-type containment system Advantage Verdict and AET’s Eagle Valence, the company’s first LNG dual-fuel VLCC.

The winner of the Tanker of the Year Award, chosen by the tanker industry, was Eagle Valence.

Following the dinner, Mr Lampert presented a Special Mention Certificate to HELMEPA – the Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association – which was celebrating 40 years of protecting the seas under the motto ’To Save the Seas.’

The penultimate award of the evening, that of Industry Leader, was sponsored to Italian classification society RINA. The Industry Leader Award went to founder and chairman of Capital Maritime & Trading Corp, Evangelos Marinakis.

The final award of the evening was the Lifetime Achievement Award, given to an individual who has made a significant contribution to the tanker industry. The award was sponsored by Newport Shipping, and was presented to Harry Theochari of Norton Rose Fulbright, where he is now a senior consultant. He is also the current chair of Maritime London, chair emeritus of the Maritime Industries of the United Kingdom and chair of the Belfast Maritime Consortium.

Overall, it was a splendid evening and Riviera Maritime Media would like to thank all the sponsors of the Tanker Shipping & Trade, Conference, Exhibition and Awards event, including the platinum sponsor DNV, the 14 gold sponsors and four silver sponsors.

Greek maritime technology specialists

It was fitting that the supporting organisations for the event were the independent tanker owners association INTERTANKO (the voice for independent tanker owners since 1970), WISTA Hellas (representing women in top management positions in shipping companies based in Greece) and HEMEXPO, the Hellenic Marine Equipment Manufacturers and Exporters, which has been a leading supplier and exporter association for the shipping sector representing Greek maritime technology specialists worldwide since 2014.

The 2022 awards took place on 9 November in Greece at the Radisson Blu Park Hotel, Athens and are the only awards recognising excellence across the tanker industry. There are five award categories: Tanker Operator of the Year, Environmental Award, Tanker of the Year, Industry Leader Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The awards were the highlight of the first day of the conference and were preceded by a drinks reception sponsored by The Marshall Islands Registry, before a gala dinner kindly sponsored by the Liberian Registry, Safe Lanes and Trelleborg.

Did you subscribe to our Newsletter?

It’s Free! Click here to Subscribe.

Source: Riviera


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.